70 LA County Schools Honored at CDE’s 2023 Schools Recognition Program Awards Ceremony

Wed Feb 22 00:00:00 PST 2023

Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Debra Duardo congratulates 70 schools.

Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Debra Duardo congratulates the 70 schools from Los Angeles County honored at the California Department of Education’s 2023 California School Recognition Program (CSRP) Awards Ceremony held at the Disneyland Hotel on February 16, 2023.   

A total of 428 schools across the state, including 70 schools from LA County, were recipients of several prestigious CSRP awards, including 2023 California Distinguished Schools, 2023 California Exemplary Arts Education Schools, 2022 National Blue Ribbon Schools, and 2022 Civic Learning Award Schools recognition. 

The 70 winning schools represent several school districts across LA County including: 

  • ABC Unified School District  
  • Alhambra Unified School District  
  • Arcadia Unified School District  
  • Bonita Unified School District  
  • Burbank Unified School District  
  • Compton Unified School District  
  • Culver City Unified School District  
  • El Monte City School District  
  • El Segundo Unified School District  
  • Glendale Unified School District  
  • Hermosa Beach City School District  
  • Inglewood Unified School District  
  • La Canada Unified School District   
  • Las Virgenes Unified School District  
  • Los Angeles County Office of Education 
  • Los Angeles Unified School District  
  • Manhattan Beach Unified School District  
  • Newhall School District  
  • Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified School District  
  • Pasadena Unified School District  
  • Redondo Beach Unified School District  
  • Rosemead School District  
  • San Marino Unified School District  
  • Saugus Union School District  
  • South Pasadena Unified School District  
  • Torrance Unified School District  
  • Walnut Valley Unified School District  
  • Wiseburn Unified School District 

“I applaud these amazing LA County schools for their award-winning programs and dedication to upholding exemplary education standards at our schools,” said Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Debra Duardo. “These programs are created through dedication and passion with one expected outcome in mind: to improve and uplift students and school communities.” 

Beginning in 1986, the CSRP gives exceptional schools and school leaders the opportunity to showcase their programs and best practices in hopes that other schools can replicate their success. All of the award programs recognize sustained student achievement, excellence in environmental program design, or superior job performance, and community involvement. 

# # # # 

The Los Angeles County Office of Education (LACOE) is the nation's largest regional education agency. LACOE supports and protects the education and well-being of LA County's nearly two million children through an equity lens. For more information, visit www.lacoe.edu.